Essex has an extensive bus network with over 85% of journeys run commercially by independent bus operators and the remaining 15% funded by Essex County Council.

Essex County Council has online services to plan your journey, find your local bus timetable, obtain operator contact details or to view the Essex Public Transport map.

BusBus Passes



You can do this by

  • downloading an application form at
  • calling 0845 200 0388 for an application or for assistance completing the form
  • collecting an application form at your local library

Please note, if you already have a pass and it is due for renewal, provided you are at the same
address you will be sent a new pass automatically. However, if you have moved please let us 
know by emailing or call 0845 200 0388

Bus passes can be used from 9am to midnight Monday to Friday and all day at weekends and Bank Hoildays.

For more information visit or 0845 200 0388

* This does not apply to Southend-on-Sea Borough Council and Thurrock Council.
Please contact these councils direct if you have a query.



The Epping Forest District benefits from excellent transport links.

As well as boasting two airfields in the District, London Stansted airport is only half an hour away.

The area is served by tube and rail for access to the centre of London and also contains the M25 and M11 motorways.

NewsNews about travel




TrainNational Rail

The Epping Forest Disitrict contains only one mainline railway station at Roydon, but there are many more adjacent to its borders.
Roydon Station is on the London Liverpool Street to Cambridge line via Harlow Town and Bishops Stortford which is operated by the train operator Greater Anglia 

TrainLondon Underground Journey Planner

The Epping Forest District is served by eight London Underground Central Line Stations within the District, with Epping being the current terminus.

The eight stations are: Epping, Theydon Bois, Debden, Loughton, Buckhurst Hill, Roding Valley, Chigwell and Grange Hill

Journey Planner