Museum volunteers nominated for award

Written on . Posted in Community, Media, Museum, Our attractions, Out and about, Residents, Volunteering opportunities, Working with the council, Your area, Your community, Your council, Your environment

The collections team at Epping Forest District Museum has been nominated for the 2015 SHARE Volunteer Awards in the Behind the Scenes Award category. The volunteer collections team has been nominated for their contributions and fantastic work during 2014.

To view photos in a slideshow, click on a picture below and click start slideshow.

The first annual SHARE Volunteer Awards for Museums in the East received an impressive 87 nominations from 46 different museums around the Eastern region. Nominations were received from museums all sizes as the awards scheme seeks to recognise the valuable contribution that volunteers make to museums and their communities.

The judging panel is sitting in the middle of May and the winners will be announced at a celebration and awards evening with drinks and canapés on 4 June at the Athenaeum in Bury St Edmunds.

Expertise and enthusiasm

The museum’s Volunteer Coordinator, Katie Weston said: “We’re thrilled that our collections volunteer team have been recognised for the SHARE volunteer awards. They’re a brilliant team who add so much expertise and enthusiasm to the Epping Forest District Museum service. As a small museum team, we really appreciate the support of local volunteers, who are helping us shape our new museum through our heritage lottery funded re-display.”

The importance of volunteers

Of the regional scheme, Simon Floyd of SHARE Museums East said: “These Awards are an ideal chance to celebrate the importance of volunteers to museums, showcase the range of roles that volunteers undertake, and demonstrate the diversity of the people who offer their time as volunteers. In addition, through these awards, SHARE can highlight best practice in both volunteering and volunteer management.”

SHARE Museums East

Further information and a full list of those nominated can be found at