New Councillors Induction Tour

Written on . Posted in Councillors, Democracy, Meetings, Your council

Newly elected councillors were guided by Epping Forest District Council Chairman Councillor Brian Sandler and Vice-Chairman Councillor Ann Haigh on an induction tour to learn more about Epping Forest District Council last Thursday.

Councillors Peter Spencer and Robert Church of Buckhurst Hill, Roland Frankel of Theydon Bois, Lesley Wagland from Chigwell, Gagan Mohindra from Grange Hill and John Wyatt from Waltham Abbey spent the entire day meeting Heads of Services and looking at the services provided by the council.

The day began with an overview by Joint Chief Executive (Resources) Peter Haywood and more presentations were given by Mr Haywood and Joint Chief Executive (Community) John Scott later in the evening. Councillor Mrs Diana Collins Leader of the Conservative Group spoke about her role. Councillor Heather Harding talked about her experiences as a new Councillor last year and Councillor Mary Sartin gave some useful guidance on training.

Head of Research and Democratic Services, Ian Willett was one familiar face to the new Councillors on their induction tour. In his other role as Returning Officer for Epping Forest, Mr Willett announced each of the results in which the new Councillors gained their seats on election night – 4 May 2006.

Click to enlarge image of the new Councillors induction tour

Pic Caption from left to right: New Councillors John Wyatt, Peter Spencer, Lesley Wagland, Roland Frankel, Gagan Mohindra and Robert Church are introduced to the elections back office at Epping Forest District Council by Ian Willett, Head of Research and Democratic Services and Returning Officer for the recent local elections.

Trackback from your site.

Leave a comment