Remember to vote on 8 June

Written on . Posted in Community, Democracy, Elections, Media, Out and about, Residents, Your area, Your community, Your council, Your home

Epping Forest district residents will be taking to polling stations on Thursday 8 June to vote in the 2017 General Election. Voters must aged 18 or over, a British, Irish or qualifying Commonwealth citizen, however EU citizens cannot vote in a UK Parliamentary election.


General Election Thursday 8 June 2017

Where to vote

Your poll card was sent to the address where you are registered. It will say where the polling station you vote at is.

Polling stations open from 7am to 10pm. Plan what time you want to vote, leaving plenty of time before the 10pm deadline. If you are in a queue at your polling station at 10pm you will still be able to vote, but if you arrive after 10pm the poll will be closed and you will have missed your chance to vote.

Your polling station could be in a school, church, village hall or sports club – we’re very grateful to all the groups who let us use their premises as polling stations.

At the polling station

When you arrive at the polling station give your polling card to the polling station staff. It’s ok if you don’t have your poll card with you, it is for your information only. You just need to tell the polling station staff your name and address and they can check whether you’re on the electoral register.

You will be given a ballot paper listing the candidates you can vote for. Mark your ballot paper with an X next to your chosen candidate. A pencil will be provided, but you may use your own pen if you prefer.

If you make a mistake on your ballot paper, don’t worry. So long as you haven’t already put it in the ballot box just let the polling station staff know and they can issue you with a replacement ballot paper.

Fold your completed ballot paper in half and pop it in the ballot box – that’s it all done!

Voting constituencies

There are 650 parliamentary constituencies in the UK. Each is represented by 1 Member of Parliament (MP) in the House of Commons. The Epping Forest district covers all of the Epping Forest constituency and part of the Brentwood & Ongar and Harlow constituencies.

Epping Forest residents will be voting for their local MP and not the leaders of the political parties. You can find your candidates here.

If you live in Ongar, North Weald, Fyfield, Stapleford Abbotts, Toot Hill, Lambourne End, Abridge and Matching Tye you will vote in the Brentwood & Ongar constituency, run by Brentwood Council. Residents living in Roydon, Sheering or Nazeing will vote in the Harlow constituency run by Harlow Council.

Use your voice

Glen Chipp, Acting Returning Officer for the Epping Forest constituency said: “Politics shapes everything we do. From the health and social care we all need, to the jobs and businesses and security of the country. Whatever your politics, make sure you vote and use your voice on 8 June.”